Scout Award Scheme


What is the Scout Section Award Scheme

The Scout Section Award Scheme includes a number of components:

  • Scoutcraft Badge
  • Target Badges
  • Proficiency Badges
  • Patrol Activity Badges
  • Cords
  • Specialty Badges
  • The Australian Scout Medallion

Scoutcraft Badge

scoutcraft badgeThe Scoutcraft badge is often the first badge earned in the Scout Troop and is aimed at facilitating entry into the Scout Troop by reinforcing basic Scouting skills. It should be earned within the first 4 to 6 weeks of joining the Scout Troop.

Target Badges

There are currently 8 Target Badges in the Scout award scheme and these are campcraft, citizenship, air activities, construction, environment, water safety, emergencies and water activities.

Each Target Badge has 3 different levels, Pioneer (red), Explorer (blue) and Adventurer (green).

When a scout has achieved 3 Target badges of the same level (citizenship, campcraft and one other) they are awarded the Pioneer, Explorer or Adventurer Badge.

pioneer badge pioneer target

Pioneer Level

explorer badge explorer target

Explorer Level

adventurer badge adventurer target

Adventurer Level


These badges not only provide the main source of program material they aim to encourage participation and develop basic life skills.

Proficiency Badges

There are currently 31 Proficiency Badges in the scout award scheme.proficiency badges

proficiency badges

The aim of the proficiency badge system is to allow a Scout to develope a pursuit or interest that will be challenging to that individual as well as providing diversification in the scout program.

A proficiency badge requires at least 10 hours effort over a period of up to 4 months.

Patrol Activity Badges

The Patrol Activity Badge is an important part of the Scout Award scheme as it gives the Scout and their Patrol a wide choice of interests and skills to pursue in small groups. These activities are organised and run by the Scouts with a minimum of adult involvement.

patrol activity badges

You are required to earn 1 patrol activity Badge for each of the 3 target levels.


cordsAs with the Target Badge system there are 3 levels of cords that can be achieved, Pioneer (red), Explorer (blue) and Adventurer (green).

To gain a Pioneer Cord a Scout needs to complete the Pioneer Badge, two Proficiency Badges and one Patrol Activity Badge (red).

To gain a Explorer Cord a Scout needs to complete the Explorer Badge, two more Proficiency Badges (total of 4 proficiency badges) and one more Patrol Activity Badge (total of 2 patrol activity badges 1 red & 1 blue).

To gain a Adventurer Cord a Scout needs to complete the Adventurer Badge, two more Proficiency Badges (total of 6 proficiency badges) and one Patrol Activity Badge (total of 3 patrol activity badges 1 red & 1 blue & 1 green).

Specialty Badges

Speaciality BadgesThere are currently 9 specialty badges in the scout award scheme and these are aimed at recognising specific skills of a particular scout.

Amateur Radio Operator: A member of the Scout Association who obtains an Amateur Radio Operator’s license, in accordance with Government regulations, may wear this badge.

Anchor: A Scout may gain an Anchor badge by reaching and maintaining the competencies (required standards) for a particular class of water craft. eg. canoe, sail boat, etc.

Deaf Sign Language: Scouts who have passed the approved tests for communicating with a deaf or language disabled person are entitled to wear this badge.

Faith Awareness: This badge encourages youth members to consider the basic principles of their religion or a religion of their choice.

First Aid or Life Saving: All scouts who hold a current First Aid qualification from any approved provider may wear the relevant First Aid badge.

Landcare: The landcare badge is designed to encourage scouts to participate in local landcare projects.

Language Emblem: If a scout is sufficiently qualified in any language, they are eligible to wear this badge indicating the language or languages spoken.

Their Service – Our Heritage: This is an annual participation award aimed at raising the awareness of the scouts about veterans and requires attendance at a dawn service.

World Conservation: This badge, which may be carried out individually or in a group, progresses the understanding of the need to conserve our environment and to adopt a more positive attitude toward this.

The Australian Scout Medallion

Australian Scout MedallionIntroduced in 2003 to provide an additional challenge for the top Scouts, the Australian Scout Medallion combines a number of key learning elements into one project, from the initial planning right through to the final self assessment.

To be eligible for this prestigious award, a Scout must have achieved the Adventurer Cord, attended a Scout Leadership Course and must plan and take a leading part in a leadership Project. Some examples of previous projects include the organisation of Cub Scout Pack holidays, coordinating a Clean Up Australia Day site, and fundraising to purchase equipment.

Further details about the ASM award are found here.

Comments are closed.